Skip to content

Bil Donovan

June 11, 2010

I discovered the beautiful illustrations of Fashion Illustrator and FIT illustration professor Bil Donovan when he left a wonderful comment on my blog a few months back. Needless to say, when I found out he had also illustrated the cover of a book that I have been wanting “The Dress Doctor: Prescriptions For Style From A to Z ” written by my favorite and ever popular costume designer Edith Head, I was tickled!!

Donovan’s illustrations are the perfect combination of color, simplicity and surprise, and they give off a classic vibe…which explains why he was the perfect choice to illustrate Edith Head’s book adaptation! Donovan has mastered the art of fusing controlled movement with free form in his watercolors —something many a fashion illustrator is pressed to figure out.

Donovan also has a distinctly Parisian/European ethos to his work, which is likely from spending seven years working in both Milan and Paris. According to his bio page, “Donovan credits this invaluable experience in shaping his sensibility and style, and returned home to New York to test the waters and established a working relationship with the Advertising, Beauty, Editorial and Fashion markets.”

As for the the notion of an American in Paris? Choubelle can certainly relate! (In terms of influence I mean…I’ve still yet to actually go…but how badly I want to!!)

Donovan has illustrated with many big names in the fashion and advertising industry, from Saatchi & Saatchi, to Vogue, Barney’s and most recently as Beauty Ambassador to Dior.  Hope to see much more of your wonderful work in the press soon Mr. Donovan!

For more fantastic illustrations, check out Bil Donovan’s website and blog here.

As always, have a lovely day!

XoXoX

• Choubelle •

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Clare permalink
    June 14, 2010 1:13 am

    Ummm I am obsessed with these. Like totally obsessed. THanks so much for sharing I am visiting his blog now!

    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

  2. July 1, 2010 9:03 am

    Thank you so much for the compliments, I fell in love with Edith and did a years research on her to attempt to capture the essence of her work…She was amazing and if you have never seen What A Way To Go…don’t miss it… and from an assistant who I interviewed, she was also generous….a Bit of Triv1a: I noted that from researching her films…she seemed to love a dangling charm bracelet on her stars…Grace Kelly, Shirley Mc Laine, Bette Davis as well as Gloria Swanson all sported this bracelet.

    Cheers Bil

    • choubelle permalink*
      February 19, 2011 10:30 pm

      Oh my goodness…I though I replied to this ages ago! Many apologies for my rudeness!

      No, no thank you for creating such beautiful illustrations! Compliment festooning is absolutely necessary. Your work is amazing.

      I definitely have to catch “What A Way to Go!” in my Netflix queue. It looks like an event! And it is great that I now know that I have the Edith seal of approval about my favorite bracelet/necklace set that I started wearing a nearly daily couple of years ago…they are a charm set, and go with mostly everything in my closet.

      Cheers likewise!

      • Choubelle •

  3. September 29, 2010 4:14 am

    I can see you appreciate fashion illustration a lot. If you have time to check out mine, please do and let me know what you think :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.