Skip to content

Canadian fashion + the best, most affordable fall collection award goes to…

September 5, 2010

OLD NAVY!!!

At last I have finally been understood. This fall at Old Navy three essential requirements of my wardrobe have been met. Color? Check. Argyle? Check. Stripes? Check, check and check!

Can you tell I’m overly enthused??

No seriously, when these polos hit the racks at the store a few weeks ago in my hometown, there was actually a struggle to get the ones I want quickly before other people scavenging the pile came, grabbed and conquered. So without further ado, here are my favorite picks from old navy this fall. I am now the proud owner of several of these colored polos and the purple argyle sweater.

So a polo is a polo. I know, but a polo is so much more cool if its done right, and these are among the best I’ve ever seen, namely because the underside of the color is a bright splash of contrasting color! I’m one of those annoying matchy-matchy people, so I could totally imagine going all the way with colorific-ness and pairing the polo below with a periwinkle skirt and some green ballet flats.

Oh, and a warning: these shirts are not for the color shy! …But really, who couldn’t use a gigantic dose of color in the fall when everyone else is delving into their usual toned down wardrobe mix of brown and maroon? At least for now, they are the perfect thing for transitioning from summer to fall. I wore them all over Montreal. :)
And speaking of Montreal, while I was there for three weeks of french speaking awesomeness, I tried to observe some trends and see if there was anything particularly special about Canadian fashion, and all I can say is…I sort of came up negative…fashion is more universal everywhere nowadays because of the ‘net. Plus, we have indie style which is all about “individualism” etc, so everyone wears whatever the heck they feel like! And the eighties trend is everywhere…But, that being said, I did notice an unusual amount of pullover-hoodies with loose-fitting turtle-neck collars, and I think the overall vibe of Montreal was really trendy and driven by whatever styles are new and fresh.
BUT, that said, Montreal has AMAZING shopping, with lots of brands I hadn’t ever heard of. I found a lot of fabulous shopping for those of us like myself who can’t afford Ferragamo and all that good stuff. Rue St. Catherine in Montreal is bananas, because unlike Newbury Street, you can actually afford to shop in most of the shops! Rue St. Catherine caters to the wallets of the middle class…and an extra bonus: if you take a stop in Indigo, the Canadian Barnes&Noble, you will find three entire shelves filled with fashion books–unlike the wimpy half-shelf that Barnes&Noble has!

Above: My birthday splurge…a lovely little handbag
in dark vintage-look leather from Roots!

I discovered a few brands in Canada that are not here in the states! …There aren’t a ton, but my two favorites are Roots and La Maison Simons, Simons for short. Roots is mainly a handbag company, and Simons is a huge department store that has oodles of amazing articles of clothing!!
So basically, that was part of my Montreal experience in a nutshell. I better get back to doing my readings this weekend, as I am taking five classses at Uni, but I will post more about Montreal (and photos, of course!) quite soon.
Have a lovely, day night or whenever it is you are reading this!

XoXoX

• Choubelle •

Images courtesy of Roots.ca, Roots Facebook page, Old Navy and Polyvore

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.