Skip to content

Fashion for the best of causes: a winter coat drive for those in need

January 29, 2011

This morning whilst leafing through The Boston Globe my mom was reading about the winter weather and its challenges (according to the Globe, “heating oil for homes is now 3.46 per gallon and rising”), and it led us to a conversation about the homeless and the cold. Then, my mom came up with a brilliant idea that I plan on putting into action  at my University…leaving boxes out around campus for winter coats for the needy. I guess my mom used to take this upon herself in grad school and bring the coats to the local shelter.  According to one of our friends who volunteers there, the one nearest shelter around my area had roughly 80 homeless people in it last week.

If you live in a wintery area and your school or workplace or university doesn’t have a box for winter coats, decorate one yourself and put it somewhere that gets a lot of foot traffic!


So, that staggering statistic means that I have some warm fuzzy things in my closet that don’t serve me too well that I am going to donate! I’m going to donate a warm fleecy and a couple of coats that I haven’t been using that are in great condition and will find a home with those that need them more than I do. If you live in a wintery area and your school or workplace or university doesn’t have a box for winter coats, decorate one yourself and put it somewhere that gets a lot of foot traffic! When you help people meet their basic needs, that is putting fashion to use for the best of causes.

XoXoX

Choubelle

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.