Skip to content

How Sewing Book “The New Handmade” Improved My Skills

January 18, 2009

This past Christmas, my Mom gave me a wonderful present that has been holding my interest and inspiring me long after the Christmas decorations have been taken down and the last bits of dark chocolate from my stocking devoured. It is a sewing book, Cassie Barden’s The New Handmade: Simple Sewing for Contemporary Style.

This book features some of the coolest ideas…and beautiful colors and patterns make it fresh and appealing to us fashion-blogging fiends. Barden says in the book that she uses colorful Japanese fabrics, and on her blog, I located www.superbuzzy.com, which is wonderful because I adored the little prints throughout the book. Superbuzzy.com fabric is similar to the “kawaii” Japanese cuteness style, which is of course, adorable!!

Projects are un-intimidating, and you can accomplish them in a few short sessions, which is always nice because you can move from project to project and not feel a bit bored from working on something too long. Right now I’m working on an oven mitt and French press coffee cozy for my Mom. She gave me the book, so I owe her some sewing, right? 🙂

I’m thinking that once I am done with the cozy and the oven mitt, I’m going to sew one of the larger bags in the book, like the one on the front cover and add pockets…my messenger bag for school is in a sorry, sorry state right now. It is too small for all of the stuff I try and haul around in it. The little iPod case is tempting too, as my other one is getting very old. Goodness…I don’t know where to begin!

To preview the inside of the book, check out http://www.thenewhandmade.com/ for more ideas and other craftezoidal bloggings from Cassie Barden. If you are in the sewing section of B&N, keep your eyes peeled for this gem of a book!!

Note: No endorsements were given to me in order for me to write this post…I’m just a big fan of it!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2009 2:05 am

    You are good! Love the horse bag

    C.

  2. February 28, 2009 11:02 pm

    i love that little ipod case 🙂

Leave a Reply

